University of London confers highest honours to exceptional individuals

Last evening the University of London awarded honorary degrees to Professor Ursula Martin, Professor Sir David Cannadine, Baron Currie of Marylebone and Sir Deian Rhys Hopkin in recognition of achievements in their respective fields.

Foundation Day 2017 Honoury graduates
This year’s Foundation Day marked the 181st anniversary of the creation of the University of London by Royal Charter on 28 November 1836

The honorary degrees were presented by the University’s Chancellor, Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal, at the University of London’s Foundation Day. This year’s evening ceremony, which took place in Bloomsbury’s Senate House, marks the 181st anniversary of the creation of the University of London by Royal Charter on 28 November 1836.

The five remarkable individuals have all made huge contributions to public life and the University in very different ways;

Professor Ursula Martin CBE FREng FRSE, of the University of Oxford, is a mathematician and computer scientist who worked for nearly half her career at University of London member institutions. She has made outstanding research contributions to theoretical and practical aspects of computer proof, and computing history and is an active proponent and mentor for women in science and engineering. Professor Martin was awarded a Doctor of Science honoris causa.

Professor Sir David Cannadine FBA is Dodge Professor of History at Princeton University, Visiting Professor at the University of Oxford, and President of the British Academy. He is the author of many books and biographies, the most recent one is Victorious Century: The United Kingdom, 1800-1906. Sir David is a Trustee of the Wolfson Foundation, the Royal Academy, and the Gordon Brown Archive to name but a few. He also sits on the Bank of England Banknote Advisory Committee, is Vice Chair of the Westminster Abbey Fabric Commission, and Vice Chair of the Trustees of Historic Royal Palaces. Sir David was awarded a Doctor of Literature honoris causa.

Baron Currie of Marylebone is an economist who has enjoyed a career spanning academia, business, government and the voluntary sector. He was Professor at the University of London, Deputy Dean at London Business School and Dean of City's Business School. He is among the UK’s most experienced regulators, having been the founding chair of Ofcom and more recently the Competition and Markets Authority, and has lately taken the chair at the Advertising Standards Authority. He sits as Lord Currie of Marylebone on the cross benches in the House of Lords. Baron Currie was awarded a Doctor of Science (Economics) honoris causa.

Sir Deian Rhys Hopkin is a Welsh historian who spent 45 years in higher education retiring as a Vice-Chancellor in London. Knighted in 2009 for services to education and to skills in the UK, he has held many public roles including President of the National Library of Wales. Currently he advises the UK and Welsh Governments on the First World War centenary and is a trustee of several educational charities. Sir Deian was awarded a Doctor of Literature honoris causa.

Professor Martin, Professor Sir Cannadine, Baron Currie and Professor Sir Hopkin join a growing list of over 550 individuals who have been honoured by the University of London. Over 400 guests attended this year’s ceremony, including staff and students from the 18 independent member institutions of the University.